Vote for your favorite Dish of the Day

Make Your Own Groovy Music Playlist for 1974

The Groovy List thinks Zac Efron is Extremely Wicked

10 Groovy Things to Do in February

Battle of the Broadway Stars #44: 1968-69 Season
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

Friday, February 24, 2017

Academy Awards Flashback #5: 1973

In our final Flashback (of this year), we revisit the 45th Academy Awards, which were presented on March 27, 1973, on NBC (click here for previous Flashbacks).

Angela Lansbury opens the awards with "Make a Little Magic". Academy President Daniel Taradash then gives some opening remarks, and Clint Eastwood and co-host Charlton Heston explain the voting rules. Eddie Albert and his son, Edward Albert, present the Oscar for Best Sound to Robert Knudson and David Hildyard for Cabaret.

Merle Oberon presents a Special Achievement Award for Visual Effects to L.B. Abbott and A.D. Flowers for The Poseidon Adventure.

Michael Jackson performs Best Original Song nominee "Ben" from Ben.

Peter Boyle and Bea Arthur present the Oscars for Best Live Action Short to Richard Barclay for Norman Rockwell's World...An American Dream and for Best Animated Short to Richard Williams for A Christmas Carol.

Robert Duvall and Cloris Leachman present the Oscar for Best Supporting Actress to Eileen Heckart for her performance in Butterflies Are Free.

Charlton Heston introduces co-host Carol Burnett, who introduces Elke Sommer and Jack Valenti (the president of the Motion Picture Association of America) to present the Oscar for Best Foreign Language Film to France for The Discreet Charm of the Bourgeoisie, which is accepted by producer Serge Silberman.

Katharine Ross and John Gavin present the Oscar for Best Film Editing to David Bretherton for Cabaret.

Springfield Revival performs Best Original Song nominee "Come Follow, Follow Me" from The Little Ark.

Diana Ross and James Coburn present the Oscar for Best Supporting Actor to Joel Grey for his performance in Cabaret.

Richard Walsh presents an Honorary Oscar to Charles S. Boren, leader for 38 years of the industry's enlightened labor relations and architect of its policy of non-discrimination, with the respect and affection of all who work in films.

Natalie Wood and Robert Wagner present the Oscars for Best Documentary Short to Charles Huguenot van der Linden and Martina Huguenot van der Linden for This Tiny World and for Best Documentary Feature to Howard Smith and Sarah Kernochan for Marjoe.

Carol Burnett introduces co-host Michael Caine, who presents (with Marisa Berenson) the Oscar for Best Costume Design to Anthony Powell for Travels with My Aunt, which is accepted by director George Cukor.

Laurence Harvey and Greer Garson present the Oscar for Best Art Direction to Rolf Zehetbauer, Jurgen Kiebach and Herbert Strabel for Cabaret.

Burt Reynolds and Dyan Cannon present the Oscars for Best Original Dramatic Score to Charles Chaplin, Raymond Rasch and Larry Russell for Limelight (Candice Bergen accepts the award for Mr. Chaplin) and for Best Adaptation Score to Ralph Burns for Cabaret.

Billy Dee Williams and Candice Bergen present the Oscar for Best Cinematography to Geoffrey Unsworth for Cabaret, which is accepted by Marisa Berenson.

Sonny & Cher present the Oscar for Best Original Song to Al Kasha and Joel Hirschhorn for "The Morning After" from The Poseidon Adventure (unfortunately, there is no video online of Connie Stevens' performance of the song).

Charlton Heston presents an Honorary Oscar to Jane Robinson, wife of actor Edward G. Robinson, who died on January 26, 1973.

Frank Sinatra presents the Jean Hersholt Humanitarian Award to actress Rosalind Russell.

Co-host Rock Hudson introduces Jack Lemmon to present the Oscars for Best Adapted Screenplay to Mario Puzo and Francis Ford Coppola for The Godfather and for Best Original Screenplay) to Jeremy Larner for The Candidate. 

Julie Andrews and director George Stevens present the Oscar for Best Director to Bob Fosse for Cabaret.

Liv Ullmann and Roger Moore present the Oscar for Best Actor to Marlon Brando for his performance in The Godfather, but Sacheen Littlefeather refuses to accept the award on behalf of Mr. Brando due to the treatment of American Indians by the film industry.

Raquel Welch and Gene Hackman present the Oscar for Best Actress to Liza Minnelli for Cabaret.

Clint Eastwood presents the Oscar for Best Picture to producer Albert S. Ruddy for The Godfather.

John Wayne invites the evening's winners to the stage to sing "You Oughta Be in Pictures".

No comments: