Vote for your favorite Dish of the Day

Make Your Own Groovy Music Playlist for 1989

Battle of the Broadway Stars #49: 1972-73 Season

101 Groovy TV Movies: Hart Bochner in Having It All

10 Groovy Things to Do in April
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

Monday, June 4, 2018

And the Drama Desk Award goes to SpongeBob SquarePants

The 63rd Annual Drama Desk Awards - which honor outstanding achievements on Broadway, Off-Broadway and Off-Off Broadway - were presented last night at NYC's Town Hall with Michael Urie as the host. Below is a complete list of the winners (with my winning predictions in pink) as well as's webcast of the ceremony.

Outstanding Play: Admissions by Joshua Harmon

Outstanding Musical: SpongeBob SquarePants

Outstanding Revival of a Play: Angels in America

Outstanding Revival of a Musical: My Fair Lady

Outstanding Actor in a Play: Andrew Garfield, Angels in America

Outstanding Actress in a Play: Glenda Jackson, Three Tall Women

Outstanding Actor in a Musical: Ethan Slater, SpongeBob SquarePants

Outstanding Actress in a Musical: Jessie Mueller, Carousel

Outstanding Featured Actor in a Play: Nathan Lane, Angels in America

Outstanding Featured Actress in a Play: Jamie Brewer, Amy and the Orphans

Outstanding Featured Actor in a Musical: Gavin Lee, SpongeBob SquarePants

Outstanding Featured Actress in a Musical: Lindsay Mendez, Carousel

Outstanding Director of a Play: John Tiffany, Harry Potter and the Cursed Child

Outstanding Director of a Musical: Tina Landau, SpongeBob SquarePants

The LaDuca Award for Outstanding Choreography: Justin Peck, Carousel

Outstanding Book of a Musical: Tina Fey, Mean Girls

Outstanding Music: David Friedman, Desperate Measures

Outstanding Lyrics: Peter Kellogg, Desperate Measures

Outstanding Orchestrations: Jonathan Tunick, Carousel

Outstanding Music in a Play: Imogen Heap, Harry Potter and the Cursed Child

The Hudson Scenic Studio Award for Outstanding Set Design for a Play: Miriam Buether, Three Tall Women

Outstanding Set Design for a Musical: David Zinn, SpongeBob SquarePants

Outstanding Costume Design for a Play: Jonathan Fensom, Farinelli and the King

Outstanding Costume Design for a Musical: Catherine Zuber, My Fair Lady

Outstanding Lighting Design for a Play: Neil Austin, Harry Potter and the Cursed Child

Outstanding Lighting Design for a Musical: Jules Fisher, Peggy Eisenhauer, Once on This Island

Outstanding Projection Design: Finn Ross and Ash J. Woodward, Harry Potter and the Cursed Child

Outstanding Sound Design in a Play: Gareth Fry, Harry Potter and the Cursed Child

Outstanding Sound Design in a Musical: Kai Harada, The Band's Visit

Outstanding Wig and Hair: Charles G. LaPointe, SpongeBob SquarePants

Outstanding Solo Performance: Billy Crudup, Harry Clarke

The Chase Award for Unique Theatrical Experience: Derren Brown: Secret

Outstanding Fight Choreography: Steve Rankin, Carousel

Outstanding Puppet Design: Michael Curry, Frozen

Special Awards:
Each year, the Drama Desk votes special awards to recognize excellence and significant contributions to the theater.

To Sean Carvajal and Edi Gathegi of Jesus Hopped the 'A' Train, whose last-minute entrances into the Signature production of this powerful play ensured it had a happy real-life ending.

Outstanding Ensemble: To Nabiyah Be, MaameYaa Boafo, Paige Gilbert, Zainab Jah, Nike Kadri, Abena Mensah-Bonsu, Mirirai Sithole, and Myra Lucretia Taylor of School Girls; or, The African Mean Girls Play, whose characters learn the facts of life but whose portrayers taught us all a thing or two about the way things are.

Sam Norkin Award: To Juan Castano, whose varied performances this season in Oedipus El Rey, A Parallelogram, and Transfers not only make a complex statement about American life but also indicate great things to come for this talented performer.

No comments: